What I Eat In A Day (Vegetarian)

Hey Everyone!

So, we got pretty slammed by storm Jonas down in Philly, and that meant an entire weekend to devote to my one true passion in life – food.

I decided to document how I typically try to eat on a daily basis. This will be a rundown of breakfast, lunch and dinner. Before we begin, the way I have the food arranged for the pictures almost never happens in real life. Unless, I have company over. Then I try to class it up. I don’t want you guys to think that my kitchen isn’t a mess after I’m done cooking because IT ALWAYS IS.

Let’s get started!

Breakfast:

If I have time, I’ll usually fry a couple eggs for protein, pancakes and fresh fruit on the side. Pancakes are like the pizzas of breakfast food. You can say you’re tired of eating them, but are you really? I alternate what I drink in the morning with my breakfast as well. I’m a huge fan of coffee, but it stains your teeth like crazy. Whitening strips ain’t cheap either. I usually stick to drinking coffee every other day. It doesn’t always work out that way, but the effort is what counts.

IMG_4124

Lunch:

My lunches are pretty simple and straightforward. I’m most likely eating lunch at work or my internship, so I need something that isn’t too time-consuming to make and will still taste good at lunch time. Sandwiches are my go to for this category. Again, I’m a vegetarian, so being sure to get enough protein in my diet is important. Peanut butter is full of it, so I’ll usually do a variation of a peanut butter sandwich with different nuts, granola, berries and more fruit on the side.

(Side note: if you ever happen to work in a city, almost everyone you work with will go out and buy lunch. Don’t feel obligated to do the same. They probably make more than you do, and you got bills to pay.)

IMG_4123

Dinner:

I’m pretty hype about this next one, since it involves using my slow cooker. I get the most creative with dinner, it’s the time I get to make sure I’m varying what I eat, and I can usually spend more on it. Whatever I choose to make, I try to make big batches so I don’t have to cook each night when I get home.

This recipe is my own variation of Grandma’s Vegetarian Chili, which I found here. The good thing about making chili is that unless you’re terrible at opening cans of beans, it’s pretty hard to screw up.

Ingredients I used:

  • 2 cans of vegetarian baked beans 16 oz.
  • 1 can of kidney beans 16 oz. (rinse and drain)
  • 1 can of garbanzo beans 16 oz. (rinse and drain)
  • 1 can of whole kernel corn 15 oz. (drain)
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes 14.5 oz.
  • 2 cloves of garlic (I just used minced garlic I already had)
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp of chili powder
  • 1 tbsp of oregano
  • 1 tbsp of cumin
  • 1/2 tbsp of basil

After that, I threw it all in the crock pot on high for a few hours. The original recipe says two hours, but that was nowhere near enough time. As a matter of fact, the original recipe calls for black bean soup – which has bacon. Grandma must have been drinking. You know, just forget that other recipe.

IMG_4122IMG_4120IMG_4119

 

There you have it. If anyone has any really good recipes, feel free to share! I’m always looking to try new things, and then judging those new things for not being up to my standards. I’m just kidding. Slightly. However, that’s all I have right now. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

