Summer of Porthouse Theatre

Hey Everyone!

So, I still haven’t figured out the secret magic of how to blog on a schedule, my sincerest apologies. Graduate life is going well – and by that I mean I don’t feel any different. All I do is work and write cover letters for potential jobs.

NO ONE TALKS ABOUT THE AMOUNT OF COVER LETTERS YOU’LL WRITE AFTER GRADUATION. COVER LETTERS ARE MY LIFE NOW.

Graduation Day itself felt surreal. I do realize that there were hundreds of graduates there with me, but that did nothing to deflate my egotistical notion that this day was all about me. Honestly, for the better part of the ceremony I just kept thinking about all the food I’d eat once we were free, because I was starving. When I walked across the stage, a singular thought flashed through my mind: “Oh my God, I’m at the beginning of the line….. I’m going to have to sit through everyone else’s name being called.”
But, as soon as I turned my tassel, I felt “it.” Whatever “it” is, I understood that the past four years have been completely worthwhile. I spent the rest of the day with family and close friends, and I reminded them every four minutes that I’m famous now.
1422341_10153336097614356_3137670470728824743_n

Moving along to the title of this post, I started my new job as Assistant Box Office Manager for Porthouse Theatre Company! Porthouse is an outdoor summer theatre that runs from June to August. This is my first management position and I’m ecstatic to be getting this type of experience when I’m heading into the workforce. However, our summer has been everything but easy so far. Porthouse is an extension of Kent State, and earlier this year the university got a new ticketing system and it has been a complete nightmare for us. I mean, I literally Kent. (See what I did there?)  But in others words, how dare they do this to us and please send help.

We’re doing our best to roll with the punches and I’m fortunate enough to have a really great team this summer. We just opened our season with A Little Night Music this past weekend, and the following shows will be Violet and Hairspray.

I’m gonna make this post a little short so I can show you guys where I work. We got a brand new box office building this summer too and it’s pretty awesome.

We begin our day shifts at the Center for the Performing Arts on Kent State’s campus. This is where our year round box office is located.

FullSizeRender
FullSizeRender-1

After our day shift ends (at 5 p.m.,) we load up the car with supplies and head out to the theatre which is located on the grounds of Blossom Music Center to start the performance shift. 

This is our new box office! We usually get here around 6 p.m. to open up at 6:30 p.m.

CHWsWsqVAAAnlZq


IMG_1315

This is the theatre. GO! is at 8 p.m.

Here are some photos of the set of A Little Night Music, courtesy of Porthouse Theatre and Kent State University. 🙂

Night_Music_123 Night_Music_221

We have opening night parties in our Thornbury Pavilion and get restaurants around the area to cater for them. This food is usually good. I say usually because the last caterer we had only brought meat entrees, so all I could eat were the desert brownies. Vegetarian probs.
CHWsWskUkAARfss

And last but not least, this awesome guy Dan ( the Box Office Manager for Porthouse,) who is the perfect mix of good friend and coworker. I don’t mean to brag but if any future employers are reading this, you should definitely hire us. Together. A two for one deal. Seriously. I’m not kidding. We get stuff done.
CHWsWsnUEAAt8u-

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

