Car Accidents, Fair Trade Food and General Freaking Out

Hello adoring fans – all two of you, I haven’t posted since last year! I’ve been meaning to do so for a while now but it seems that my life’s purpose is to procrastinate everything I do.

There actually was a point in which I thought my final semester of college was gonna be a piece of cake. I have very fond memories of that blissful ignorance. I am so stressed out I’m not even sure what I’m stressed out about anymore. Life, maybe? Not only that, but I’m way too busy to have a proper breakdown. Send help. In exactly two months from now I’ll be a fresh college graduate. Walking across that stage in May brings an end to a time in my life where I was still somewhat sheltered from the real world. I’m equally excited and terrified about it, but Lord knows it’s time for me to get out of here.

The classes for my Public Relations minor are awesome this semester. In the case studies class I’m taking we’ve been given clients and assignments comparable to what we’d be doing if we became PR professionals after graduation. I can definitely see this as a career path, that doesn’t mean the classes are easy though. One of my professors used to work for the CIA – just try to imagine her teaching style and you’re probably right.

I  also read a great book recently, Where am I Eating? by Kelsey Timmerman, and it was really eye-opening. I rarely read non-fiction on account of the fact that I have plenty of time to be bored when I’m dead. Timmerman talks about his journey to the Ivory Coast, Brazil, Nicaragua, China and Costa Rica to find out where his food comes from. His writing style is a mix of humor and hard facts, if you’re interested in learning about the global food economy I highly recommend it.

As an American, my knowledge of things outside our country is unfortunately very limited in general. I learned about Fair Trade food for the first time and how flawed the food system is. Child labor, modern day slavery and poverty are the norm in the developing countries that grow the majority of crops the world needs. According to the United Nations World Food Programme, out of the 805 million hungry people on earth today, almost half are farmers. People who grow food are starving. Think about that. The giant food companies don’t pay a fair price for the crops and farmers are barely able to afford necessities, such as food for their families. This is why it’s important to buy Fair Trade certified food when you can. Fair Trade organizations guarantee that farmers will be paid a fair, set price for their crops no matter how the market fluctuates. Additionally, farmers are yielding smaller harvests due to changing weather conditions – hotter summers, earlier winters, shorter rain seasons – and this affects their revenue. Hello global warming critics.

It’s always good to be educated on what’s happening outside of your own sphere.

In other recent developments, my co-worker hit my car in the parking lot! We all went out for dinner one night and she didn’t see my car and backed into it. The irony in this situation is that she was the only one who was NOT drinking. Her insurance covered it and my baby is all good now.

unnamed

But wait, there’s more! I needed a rental while my car was in the shop and someone hit the rental car the second day I had it. I have great luck.

That’s all I got for now! I’ll try not to wait until 2016 to write another post.

By the way guys, Beyonce deserved the Grammy for Album of the Year and I’m still not over it.

Leave a Reply

